Forum LAMS Lounge Forum: My first LAMS experience and ideas for LAMS 2.4

You may request notification for My first LAMS experience and ideas for LAMS 2.4.
Search: 

1: My first LAMS experience and ideas for LAMS 2.4
12/03/09 08:37 AM
[ Reply | Forward ]
After translating quite a pile of LAMS labels to french, I decided to use LAMS for myself. In previous years I just forced my students to design some simple sequences as an exercise. So, I am a total newbie, but I think I came up with a few maybe useful questions and suggestions while designing what I consider to be a very simple sequence.

Example I used to come up with some ideas:
The sequence is part of a little crash course on social science methodology. It tries to teach learners how to formulate a simple "X -> Y" research question/hypothesis and then how to design a questionnaire to measure X and Y. Attached a *.jpg made with CompendiumLD (won't comment on problems I had with that tool). It shows the Forum I want to get rid off (mostly) and two activity loops, within both of which learners either work on the wiki or with external survey manager tool.

Also attached a picture of the LAMS sequence (in french, sorry).
- I use the data collection tool three times to let students send me a "done message" (fin de l'étape)
- Forum used for feedback is a Moodle one.
- Plan de recherche is a wiki they have to go back to
- The external survey manager is referenced three times as resource task.

* Teacher notification by email
- There should be a authoring option in each tool, preferably a bit customizable (.e.g. send a message at the end of X activities or at the end of the day). Right now, only some tools send mail.
- Alternative solution: Create a "done" tool with a button and a short text field. Student can click on it and add a short comment when he arrives at this stage. Yet another solution. Add a "poke the teacher" button next to the finish button that the user can press.